Contact - RoadText Competition on Video Text Detection, Tracking and Recognition

For any question about this challenge, please contact george.tom [at]

George Tom is a dual-degree student at the International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad (IIIT-H). He started with his Masters in the Center for Visual Information Technology (CVIT) in the year 2020 under the supervision of Prof. CV Jawahar.

Minesh Mathew recieved his Btech degree in computer science from NIT Warangal, India in 2009. He joined International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad (IIIT-H) India in 2013 as a Masters student. Currently he is pursuing his Ph.D under the supervision of Prof. CV Jawahar. He is a recepient of the TCS PhD fellowship for Computer Science. He has primarily been working on the problem of text recognition for Indian scripts and Arabic in document images and scene images.

Dimosthenis Karatzas is an associate professor at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and associate director of the Computer Vision Centre (CVC) in Barcelona, Spain. At the CVC he leads the vision and language research line, working at the intersection of computer vision and text analysis. He has co-authored over 100 publications in refereed journals and conferences and has an H-index of 23. He was the recipient of the 2013 IAPR/ICDAR Young Investigator Award, and Google Faculty Research Award in 2017. D. Karatzas has served in various roles at major conferences in his field (ICDAR, DAS, CBDAR, ICPR, ICFHR), including co-chairing IWRR 2014/16/18 and CBDAR 2015/17. D. Karatzas is a lead organiser of the Robust Reading Competitions series. He is the chair of the Technical Committee 11 on Reading Systems of the Int. Association of Pattern Recognition. D. Karatzas has been a founding member and a member of the executive committee of the UK Chapter of the SPIE, while he is currently a member of the IAPR-Education Committee and member of the IEEE the IAPR. He is one of the founders of the Library Living Lab, an open participatory innovation space in a public library.

C. V. Jawahar is the Amazon Chair professor at IIIT Hyderabad, India. At IIIT Hyderabad, Jawahar leads a group focusing on computer vision, machine learning, document analysis and multimedia systems. He has been looking into a set of problems that overlap with vision, language and text. In the past. He has served as a chair for previous editions of ACCV, WACV, IJCAI, ICDAR and ICVGIP. Presently, he is an area editor of CVIU and an associate editor of IEEE PAMI. He is also a program co-chair for ACCV 2018.

Challenge News

Important Dates

24th -31st December 2022: Initial website launch

24th -31st December 2022: Initial training data release

15 February 2023: Full training data along with test data release

1st March 2023: Submission site open

20 March 2023: Deadline for competition submissions

27 March 2023: Extended deadline for competition submissions

1 May 2023: Initial submission of competition report

21 - 26 August 2023: Result announcement and presentation


All deadlines are in the AoE time zone